The Zemen Monastery “Saint John the Evangelist”
70 km from Sofia, southwest and less than 2 km from the town of Zemen Zemen Monastery is "Sv. John the Theologian. "If you are traveling in this direction, be sure to visit one of the - old monasteries in Bulgaria, preserved priceless murals and relics. The monastery was originally dated to 11-13 century, but after finding some elements in the decoration, and much more - old paintings, researchers found that it was founded during the First Bulgarian Empire, from 681 to 1018 The building of the church apse and cross, built in 11-13 century. Despot Deyan - ruler of the principality Velbuzhd donates for renovation of the church in 1334 when it was painted entirely. Centuries - later, after many years of destruction in the 19th century roof of the church was completely reconstructed. And built a residential part of the monastery. In 1878, after the liberation, and a small bell. In the church of Zemen monastery "St. John the Theologian "reserved unique murals painted early 12th century. Many of them have been irrevocably lost, but the other until today different images of Solomon and David, a scene from "Reject gifts of Joachim and Anna." A part of the image of St. St. Constantine and Helena, as well as portraits of Despot Dejan and his wife Zoe. The frescoes in the church are fully restored. Because precious relics the monastery was converted into a museum and not a working temple. In 1971, Zemen Monastery "St. John the Theologian "was declared an archaeological monument.